Work experience

I am positive and I love to meet people from different backgrounds and take part of their experiences and perspectives. This is also reflected in my overall view of museums and most other cultural institutions. They should be a meeting place with low thresholds, where visitors can find a good context to thrive, learn new things and grow as persons. During my career I have had the privilege of meeting a great variety of people, stretching from professors at the Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences, artists, craftsmen, priests, senior military officers, children suffering from mental disabilities to homeless persons. One of the best things I have ever done is to work at the October Gallery in London. Many artists, museum professionals and cultural personalities from all over the world visit the gallery.

My ambition is to become a part of your organization and help you to achieve your goals. Due to my background, I can help you with a lot of different tasks. It's easy for me to learn and to adapt to new environments. At the moment I live in a rural part of Sweden, previously I have worked in Stockholm, London, on the Norwegian West Coast and I have had an internship in Kenya.

Below I describe my experience in some areas where I hopefully can be of use to you. Please, contact me if you have any questions. 

A part of an exhibition about the Swedish chemist Jacob Berzelius at the Observatory Museum. I worked as a curatorial assistant and participated in the planning and creation of this exhibition. Image courtesy: Utställningsestetiskt forum.

Museum and art gallery work
I have been a curator at Gällivare Museum in Swedish Lapland. My areas of responsibility were being part of the senior management group, the operations of the museum, coordination with the other parts of the cultural department, permanent and temporary exhibitions, education, public programs, communication, budget, marketing and an art collection consisting of 2100 art works. In my first year we increased the number of visitors with 27% and the museum shop went from a minus result to a profit. I have also worked as head of exhibitions and education at Västergötlands museum, in Skara, Sweden. At the moment I work as an art registrator at Gällivare Museum. I make an inventory of the art works, writing an art policy and participate in different projects.

To increased the number of visitors we worked hard to improve the marketing and to build good relations with the audience, to make them appreciate Gällivare museum. I love creating exhibitions and the most exciting project I have participated in was to create a 1960's apartment in Malmberget's (a mining town in Swedish Lapland) only "skyscraper" before it was demolished.

The latest exhibition project I had responsible for was to show the travelling exhibition Katja of Sweden at Västergötlands museum in Skara, Sweden. Katja was Sweden's first internationally renowned fashion designer. Here is a link to video from when the exhibition was shown at Sörmland Museum: Katja of Sweden – YouTube. You can't probaly understand my language, but you will see what it is about). 

I have a master's degree in art history and a curator education. Besides this, I have a Bachelor's degree in theoretical philosophy and I have also written a master's degree thesis in cinema studies and a bachelor thesis in cognitive neuroscience. I have also taken courses in leadership, project management, service management and how to create public value. I am used to conducting research and write texts of various kind.

In 2010, I worked as a curatorial assistant at the Observatory Museum in Stockholm. I participated in the creation of an exhibition about the chemist Jacob Berzelius. After Carl von Linné he is Sweden's most famous scientist. My work included planning, research, grouping objects in a database, write exhibition texts, cooperation with the exhibition designer and developing educational programs. I also made a proposal on how the exhibition would be presented on social media and on the museum's website.

I have worked as a gallery assistant at the October Gallery in London. It shows contemporary art from all around the world. Several of its artists are represented in the British Museum and Tate Britain. My work consisted of creating graphic folders of the exhibitions, help our art director hanging exhibitions, handling artworks, receive guests and visitors, cooking, and a lot of other things.

Due to my experience I love to meet people and build relations. I have been a museum educator at the Observatory Museum, Police Museum (both in Stockholm) and at Porjus hydropower plant. I have held hundreds of classes about a lot of topics, everything from 1800-th astronomy, 1900-th chemistry, hydroelectrical power plants to Swedish crime cases. This means that I can explain different areas in accordance to the knowledge level of the group. I am used to working with different groups ranging from children to retired people.
Nairobi, we are working on an installation.
Administration
As an administrator at St. Clara Church, I assisted my boss and the financial manager with planning, coordination and writing grants applications. The money received from the grants applications covered 25-30 percent of the total annual budget. Besides this I independently managed several projects and was in charge of a part of the communcation and marketing, the membership register, diaries of letter, the visitor group programs. My job demanded social skills, foresight, integrity, discretion, patience and simultaneous capacity. I also participated in a lot of different activities.

One summer I had the full responsibility for St. Clara church summer island Lindholmen in lake Malaren. It was a wonderful time because the work was to help vulnerable women and young people. I was charge for administration, budget, food, events, volunteer workers, maintenance, security, motorboat driving and contact with external partners.

A view from St. Clara Church's summer island Lindholmen. I loved to work there and help people in need. It was very nice to swim every day.
Information work and marketing
I can help you with making your museums and your activities more visible. I can also help you to continue to build relations with the paudience. My media and marketing background also include work as a web editor at a Swedish Book Club for military history. I was responsible for the web shop and the development of two large commercial web sites. A large part of my work consisted of writing marketing texts for different target groups and to help the company building relations with them.

My education include a 3-year media arts program at Skovde University and a course in journalistic writing at Ljungskile Folkhögskola.
Writing
I am used to produce material for web and print in a fast tempo. For example articles, short stories, thesis, grants applications and marketing texts. It is easy for me to conduct research about new areas and to acquire the knowledge that is required to write and proofread texts. I have written several academic theses with distinction.

A reconstructed crime scene that I have talked about many times. At the Police Museum in Stockholm. Image courtesy: The Police Museum.
Educational work
I have a lot of experience working with young people and schools. In addition to my museum teacher work I have had other educational jobs. For four years I was a church educator in Floro on the Norwegian West Coast. Annually I had responsibility for up to 160 confirmation students in the age 14-15 years. I have also been a teacher at the University of Skovde and taught some basic courses and supervised students who were writing basic thesis. Besides this I have worked with children suffering from mental disabilities (ADHD, DAMP, Asperger's syndrome and multi-disabilities).

I have done educational studies, an art education course and I have also participated in some church educational courses.